Rob Lowe RedditAMA Recap

Rob Lowe

Hi reddit, I’m Rob Lowe, actor, author, producer, and entrepreneur. Most recently I starred in Parks and Recreation and Killing Kennedy, and published my memoir LOVE LIFE. You probably know me from films like The Outsiders and St. Elmo’s Fire. I’m excited to talk to you, so ask me anything! me on my phone: http://imgur.com/dhhYWmf

 plus Victoria from reddit will be helping me so let’s get started!

https://twitter.com/RobLowe/status/454335277797216256

 I want to first of all thank everybody for questions that have made me so happy. And made this so fun for me. And to point out to everybody in the reddit world that I (in the last 2days) have been on everything from David Letterman, to Ellen, Oprah, Bill O’Reilly, Good Morning America, NPR, and I’m doing Bill Maher tomorrow, and the ONLY Thing my kids care about is my reddit appearance.

I’m not exaggerating. My sophomore at Duke never touches base with me, and I get a text today that’s all in caps, that says “WHAT?!?! YOU’RE ON REDDIT TODAY????”

This is great. I’m absolutely going to do it again.

reddit

imdb

http://roblowe.com/

Q

Dear Rob, how is it that you do not age?

A

Well, being youthful is an inside job. Think about what youth is. It’s kids, kids are enthusiastic, energetic, interested, optimistic, engaged, and curious. If you’re not all of those things, you can have no lines on your face and a 32 inch waist, and no one is going to call you youthful.

Q

How was it working on The Stand in your earlier years? Did you get to meet Stephen King when he was on set for his cameo?

A

Not only was he onset for his cameo, but it’s one of the few Stephen King television projects that he also actually wrote. And he was on set every day. And it was one of the great pleasures of my life, getting to spend so much time with one of my heroes.

Q

I saw on TV that you were turned down for the Billy Zane part in “Titanic”. What other roles did you not get that you wished you had got?

A

Some roles I came close to getting, other roles I had no shot at getting. But over the years, I really wanted to be Jerry Maguire, I really wanted Kevin Bacon’s part in Footloose, I would have loved to have done Andrew Lloyd Weber’s male lead in Sunset Boulevard on Broadway. But happily, there haven’t been that many others.

Q

If those behind the West Wing were to approach you with a view of bringing the show back with Sam Seabourne as POTUS, would you be interested?

A

If Aaron Sorkin was writing it, I would be there with bells on.

Q

Which actor from P&R is most like their character in real life?

A

All of the actors have profound similarities to their characters. And that’s what’s so great about the writers, is that they find an interesting kernel of truth and then build on it in a kinetic way. For example, my favorite wrap gift was from Nick Offerman’s woodshop. It was a beautiful maple keepsake box.

Q

That’s awesome! Is that the same box from Chris and Anne’s going away party?

A

VERY PERCEPTIVE! The box that Ron Swanson gave me, Nick Offerman built. And it sits in my office as we speak.

Q

What about Retta and Donna?

A

I think the most profound difference is Donna does not have a relative that’s won a Nobel prize.

Retta’s aunt is a Nobel-prize winner!

Q

Can you tell us a little more about your character in ”Moonbeam City” and how you got involved with the project?

A

WOW, so excited that you know about it already! Moonbeam City is a new cartoon that I am starring in for Comedy Central that probably won’t be on the air until very early next year, and it is hilarious, wildly politically incorrect, and very very very wrong. It takes place in Moonbeam City, America’s most swinging and dangerous city in 1985, and I am the coolest, most bitchin’ top cop, who probably causes more crimes than he actually solves. And Will Forte, Kate Mara, and Elizabeth Banks. So it’s really too bad we couldn’t find anybody good.

Q

Anyway – my question is what was your favorite part of shooting in Winnipeg? And your least favorite?

A

My favorite part of Winnipeg is the new, up and coming, amazingly gorgeous museum that is being built there. It is one of the most beautiful buildings I’ve ever seen, it was not completed while I was there, but I feel like it should be open fairly soon. And I loved the lilacs while they’re in bloom. Least favorite part was the programming priorities of the sports bar I was in.

Q

Tell us something about yourself that we might find surprising.

A

Not a lot of people realize that I am totally and completely stone deaf in my right ear. So if you ever meet me in a crowded restaurant and are standing on my right side trying to talk to me, I’m not rude, I’m just really deaf.

Q

What would you say is your favorite book and why?

A

I have a lot of favorites. West Wing fans should all pick up the book What It takes by Richard Ben Cramer, it was source material we all had to read for the show. I also recommend Atlas Shrugged for those who have not read that. And Nabokov’s Lolita, that language is so beautiful.

Q

Do you guys hang out off set?

A

It’s true. The cast of Parks & Rec is just a group of unbelievably nice, humble, down to earth, hilarious friends. And they have so much in common in that they’re smart, funny entrepreneurial, and I think that’s why there are so many friendships on the set.

Leave a Reply

