Robert Evans – RedditAMA Recap

Thank you for tuning in. And never forget – The fuckin you get ain’t worth the fuckin you get.

Now go get the Robert Evans iBook Collection. It’s gonna make you good. Excuse me, very good about you. And you can make it if you try. Is it easy? No. Can it be done? You bet your ass it can.

In my half century in this racket I’ve been a movie star, studio head, producer, author… and even an animated cartoon. I went from royalty to infamy and clawed my way back… and that ain’t no hat trick. So take your best shot and prepare for the unexpected.

My Proof: https://twitter.com/The_RobertEvans/status/454388763737612289

My new book – The Fat Lady Sang The Fat Lady Sang, is available now.http://www.amazon.com/dp/0062286048/ref=cm_sw_su_dp

Miracles can happen. I’m living proof of it.

imdb page

wiki

Q

Are you proud of the sacrifices you made in your lifetime?

A

Some yes, some no. Many of the sacrifices are my own fault. If its my own fault, I’ll take the flack.

Q

I really enjoyed reading about your friendship with Jack Nicholson in The Kid Stays In The Picture, my question is, do you still hang out with the Irishman? Also, one other question, what’s your go to, seen it a thousand times film to watch when all else fails?

A

Jack and i are very close friends and have been for over 30 years. I look upon him as the best friend i have in hollywood. He’s a great Irishman. My go to movie is My Fair Lady

Q

What was it like to be involved with such an iconic film, “The Godfather?”

A

It was the first mafia movie written, directed, and acted by Italians. Coppola’s hungry brilliance as its director, was cinematically operatic. But nobody wanted to make it. They only offered 6 million to make it and said it would never be a hit. I got the rights for $12,500 and they weren’t even impressed with that. Sometimes you have to go against the tide. Nothing is easy in the business. A lot of layers from distribution, down to set decoration, casting, music. Each one is a battle.

Q

Has anyone been a bigger prick to you than Frank Sinatra?

A

Frank was great to me – i was a prick to him. And it wasn’t right. But it had to do with the casting of Mia Farrow, and Frank divorced Mia and our friendship over it. It was a friendship i really treasured because he gave me an opening in the business when he took the detective book i optioned as a young producer, and said “I want to make this film”. When it comes to a woman, all rules change. Especially an actress.

Q

Having been in the industry throughout its many changes, what is something that you think new Hollywood could learn from the Golden Era of Hollywood?

A

Have a bit more respect for those who have been through the mill, like yours truly. Honestly, one does learn a high quota of wisdom. He may lose his eye site, but he doesn’t lose his brain. And its worth using. There are great filmmakers out there that young people in the business don’t know. Ive been very fortunate that I’ve kept my core of friends far younger than myself. I give them much wisdom, and they give me much vigor and open my mind to new things. Together, its worked rather well.

Q

What would be your dream project?

A

I can’t tell you that before i make it. Many of my dreams have turned into nightmares. My biggest dream project, The Cotton Club – i spent 5 years of my life on, and it ended up being the worst nightmare of my entire career. So i can’t use the word dream until it happens. So far it hasn’t happened.

Q

Who are your favorite actors currently working in the business? and who’s your favorite director thats currently working the business?

A

I can’t tell you that, i may be asking them to work for me. I have great relationships with several directors, depending on the genre of the beast.

Q

I’d like to ask what you think is different about the industry today compared to when you started? Specifically in regards to starting in the industry.

A

Its much larger, more corporate. The American film has grown to be our countries number one export to the world. It flies the American flag higher all around the globe, more than any other product we manufacture. We should be very proud of it.

Q

Have you and Slash been on any whacky adventures lately?

A

So would i! Slash is a great guy, and just being with him is an adventure! He came to me at 2am with the Godfather theme that he re-composed as a favor to me, and as a friend.

Q

Do you, Warren, and Jack have plans to do a film?

A

I read in the trades that Warren is doing a film. He’s a hell of a writer, producer, and an actor. He’s worked for 2 years to get this on screen and that takes determination. More power to you, Warren.

Q

That’s the Howard Hughes bio yeh?

A

Thank you very much. I want you to know that everyone at the studio did not want me to make it. It was my first independent movie as the head of production at Paramount, and everyone there thought i was crazy. Nobody understood the script. But i knew Robert was a great screenwriter, i had Jack Nicholson as a lead, and Faye Dunaway, and Roman Polanski. I decided to bet on my artists, not my executives.

Q

Is there any movie held up as a classic you think is completely undeserving of the title? What about a film that you think is hugely underrated?

A

I think Cotton Club is definitely underrated. There was so much bad PR while the picture was being made, that it hurt the opening. Its a picture I’ve seen several times since, and think “Gee, I’d like to make that again”. Unfortunately a film is very reminiscent of a parachute. It’s got one chance to open. And if it don’t open, you’re dead. I’ve opened many times to a silent audience. The chute did not open.

Q

How do you view Paramount and the decisions that have been made there in the last decade?

A

Have there been good decisions / bad decisions – it’s not for me to say. It’s like being in a baseball player. You bat 1 out of 3, you’re a big star. It seems easy but its not. Its somewhat like the weather. It aint that easy to predict a film. Some of the biggest promotions have had the flattest closes. Its certainly not considered a good gamble by the financial community, until very recently when the world has gotten much closer and the American film has become more of a jewel.

Q

Do you and Roman still talk?

A

Yes we do often. He’s a very close friend of mine. We’ve been through thick and thin together.

Q

What do you look for in a script?

A

lean dialogue. The more the dialogue, the more amateur the writer. A movie is called a moving picture. Its not a play. Theres a big difference to being a screenwriter. One can be a screenwriter and brilliant at it, yet not a book writer, or a stage writer. A triple threat writer is a very rare jewel. And overestimated by his agent.

Q

What was the last film you saw in theaters?

A

Very easy. Ive had the same feeling for a long time. Any man who thinks he knows the mind of a woman, is a man who knows nothing. Ive been the benefactor of it, and the victim of it. And every time i think I’m the benefactor, i end up the victim.

Q

What advice (if any) would you pass on to the next generation of producers trying to be Robert Evans?

A

Change your name. Everybody thinks I’ve had a glamorous wonderful life, and i have. But i want you to know it’s a lot easier to read it than to live it.

Q

How do you feel about the constant remaking/rebooting of movies that Hollywood seems to thrive on lately? How do you feel about CGI?

A

Each producer has his own genre that he has a love for. I like to tell stories about how it feels wether it be a musical or drama – rather than where its at. I’m not a CGI man. I just look to make a canvas that evokes a tear and a laugh. And mystery if possible. And thats not as popular as it used to be. The human emotion emotion to me is what I like to evoke from my audience. When it gets down to the guts, evoking a tear, or having a romantic evening, i think I’m one of the best at that.

Q

How many pages does it take to get excited about a screenplay?

A

When its over. A screenplay is re-written, re-written, and re-written. Its a never-ending fight, and very subjective. I’ve made mistakes, and hit the ball out of the park…

Q

Do you plan on doing any more book signings for “The Fat Lady Sang” in the LA area? I keep missing them and I’ve been wanting to shake your hand for a long time.

A

Yes I do. This book tells a story that i think people should know about. It ain’t no musical, thats for sure. The iBook is my pride and joy because it has the audio, visual, and is a collection of my career. I think it will give you a tear and a laugh.

Q

What was the most insane party you ever attended? Any anecdotes to share with those who were not as lucky to live and be so wildly successful during such an incredible era?

A

For the record, I’ve never been to a wild party. And you’d have to burn me at the stake to tell you. I learned very early in life, and its a lesson i can share – because of it, I’m alive today. Continued silence is the greatest insurance policy for continued breathing. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

Leave a Reply

